The Crime Reports Unit is responsible for housing reports generated by the Kern County Sheriff’s Office in the Bakersfield metropolitan area as well as the 16 substations and satellite offices.
Crime reports are protected by California Government Code Section 6254(f), also known as the Public Records Act, which dictates to whom, and under what circumstances, copies of crime reports may be released.
The Public Records Act dictates law enforcement make available to the victim (or their authorized representative) copies of criminal reports for certain types of crimes; redacting any information the law declares they are not entitled to receive.
The public may request “Calls for Service” and a daily “Event Summary” is also available for public review upon request.
Crime Reports is prohibited by law from releasing juvenile reports; any reports related to suicides or death; mental health holds/commitments; sexual assaults; and elder abuse. The release of such reports requires a court order.
Vehicles seized by the Kern County Sheriff’s Office in the Bakersfield metropolitan area will only be released to the registered own upon proof of current registration and valid insurance. The registered owner must also have a valid driver’s license or be accompanied by a valid licensed driver. If the registered owner does not have a valid driver’s license, they must present another form of photo ID issued by the State of California or any other state, federal, or governmental agency.
Vehicles being held under California Vehicle Code 14602.6 will be held for 30 days. During the first ten business days, the registered owner may attend an impound hearing, held Monday through Friday between 9:00 to 10:00 a.m. and 1:00 to 2:00 p.m., to possibly obtain an early release of the vehicle. A $100.00 cash only fee will be charged to the registered owner upon the release of an impounded vehicle.
Recovered stolen vehicles and vehicles towed by the department that are not under a 30 Day Impound, do not incur a charge to obtain the claim check; however, there will be a fee charged by the company who towed the vehicle. Claim checks for these vehicles may be obtained from the Sheriff’s Office by the registered owner Monday through Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., excluding holidays.
Crime Reports also issues receipts for repossessed vehicles. These receipts are $15.00, payable by cash only.